news-details

How To Manage Privacy Settings On YouTube?

Last updated on August 8th, 2019 at 06:50 pm

Manage Privacy Settings On YouTube

Since its launch, YouTube has become a global part of our digital world. An incredible source as well as a fantastic tool to make marketers’ appearance glorious in the industry- the tool is working perfectly in the social media market and boosting everyone’s profile who is using the channel.

However, YouTube, the video-sharing platform, is growing tremendously, but still, there are some loops that are making users’ privacy vulnerable. While uploading any video on YouTube, the user could mistakenly disclose their identities like email address and phone number. Users’ video-watching habits may be open for the world to see, along with their likes, dislikes, and more.

As a user of YouTube who is promoting his content on the channel create and upload videos, then you could accidentally give your personal information like the location you live.  Therefore, it is an important question about how to protect yourself from such big blunders and security issues.

If you go through guidelines and the security terms, you will get to know that the channel gives you the complete freedom to make your account private and to manage your content security.

Want to know what are the steps to make your account private and what steps could help you to manage your content as well as YouTube privacy settings, read on the tutorial, and learn the necessary information.

Privacy Settings For Uploaded Content:

1. Login To Your YouTube Account:

Go to your preferred web browser and enter www.youtube.com in the address bar and press “Enter.” It will navigate you on YouTube’s main page.

enter www.youtube.com

If you are not logged into your YouTube account, click on the blue color “Sign In” button located at the top right corner of the page.

click on the blue color Sign In button

Once you clicked the sign-in button, it will navigate you to a login page; you need to select the Google account associated with YouTube.

sign in with your Email address and password

If none of your accounts is associated with your YouTube account, click Use “Add another account” option and sign in with your Email address and password to associate it with YouTube.

2. Click Your Channel:

click the profile icon

Once you logged into YouTube account, you need to click the profile icon located at the top right corner of the homepage. Doing this will show you a list of the menu which will appear below your profile icon, here you need to click on the “Your Channel” tab located at the top of the menu.

click on the Your Channel tab

3. Click On YOUTUBE STUDIO (BETA):

Click On YOUTUBE STUDIO (BETA)

 When you click the “Your channel” option, it will direct you on the new page where you will find a “YOUTUBE STUDIO” option. Click on the option, after which you will be taken on the new page where you need to select the “Video” option located at the left side of the page.

select the Video option

You will find the “video” option on the left side of the page with multiple options like “Dashboard,” “Analytics,” “Comments,” etc.

4. Select The Uploaded Video:

From the video section, you will get a page with all the videos which you have uploaded earlier. Select any of the videos in which you want to make the privacy changes.

Select The Uploaded Video

Once you select the video in which you want to make the privacy changes, you will be taken on a new page which will show you hundreds of options like “Basic” or “Advanced” options.

 Click on the drop-down menu

On the page, look at the right side, you will see your uploaded video. Just below the video content, you will get “Visibility,” “Playlist,” “Cards,” and “End Screen” options. Click on the drop-down menu located in the “Visibility” section from where you can select the privacy instructions you want to upload.

get three different options

From the drop-down menu, you will get three different options, which is “Public,” “Private,” and “Unlisted.” 

  • Public: When you select the “Public” option,  your video content gets open for everyone. It allows anyone to watch your video content.
  •  Unlisted: Unlisted” means that only people who know the link to the video can view it. The video will not appear in any of YouTube’s public space.
  • Private: When you select “Private,” your video is not accessible to any users and hidden from all search results. Only the owner and the specific person you have selected could watch and share your video content.

5. Click Done:

Once you made the necessary changes in the privacy settings of your video, click on the “Done” option which will appear just below the security option you have selected.

click on the Done option

Doing this will save the changes successfully.

Privacy Settings For New Video:

1. Login To Your YouTube Account:

Go to your preferred web browser like i.e., Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or anyone and enter www.youtube.com in the address bar. Next, click “Enter” key on your keyboard. It will redirect you on YouTube’s home page.

enter www.youtube.com

If you are not logged into your YouTube account, click on the blue color “Sign In” button located at the top right corner of the page.

click on the blue color Sign In button

Once you clicked the sign-in button, it will navigate you to a login page; you need to select the Google account associated with your YouTube account.

sign in with your Email address and password

If none of your accounts is associated with YouTube, click “Add another account” option and sign in with your Email Address and password.

2. Click Create A Video Or Post:

Once you logged in your YouTube account, click on the “Create a video or post” icon represented through a video recorder icon and a plus sign inscribed in it. The option would be located at the top of the page beside notification and profile icon.

Click Create A Video Or Post

When you click on the icon, it will pop-up two options that are “Upload Video” and “Go Live.” Select any of the options which you prefer.

Upload Video
  • Upload Video: The option will allow you to upload any of the videos which you want to from the desktop or the files where you have saved the video content.
  •  Go Live: Live option simply allows you to connect with your viewers through live video.

“Both options have privacy settings, which can be done with an easy procedure given below.”

3. Select Files To Upload:

From the uploaded video, you will be taken on a new page with a text – “Select files to upload or drag and drop video files.” Go with the option you prefer.

Select Files

Doing this will simply upload the video you want.

4. Click Drop-Down Menu:

After uploading the video, you will see a rectangular box with a drop-down menu just located below the “Select files to upload or drag and drop video files” text.

Click Drop-Down Menu

Click on the drop-down menu; this will show a list of four options that are “Public,” “Unlisted,” “Private,” and “Scheduled.”

Public:  Public option will simply allow everyone to watch your video content without any restrictions.

Unlisted:  Unlisted” means that only people who know the link to the video can view it. The video will not appear in any of YouTube’s public space.

Private: The option will not give permission to others to watch your video content except the people you have allowed.

Scheduled: Scheduled option is not available for everyone- to have the option, your channel needs to be verified the account as well as the need to a partner. Moreover, it is also important that your video is monetized. 

Note: “Monetization for new channels is now only available after the videos on your channel has a cumulative total of 10k views.”

You can select any of the options as per your convenience and preference. If you are running a YouTube channel for your business promotions or building a perfect image in front of your audience, then try not to make your account or video private.

Private option will restrict the presence of audience on your content and channel as well. As an average user who is using the channel only for his/her entertainment and does not want to keep its activities open to everyone should make his account private. This will help the person to secure his/her details.

YouTube is one of the best tools to market any business or brand in the digital world, and if we talk about its inventions and success stories, then we have a lot to say as the network has served its best to every user. If you are also planning to make your debut on the network or wish to get recognition in the social world, then you must know the basic guidelines of the network. It will not only help you to grow in the industry but will also support you to become an authentic and ideal user.