news-details

How To Delete YouTube Channel?

Last updated on August 13th, 2019 at 05:05 pm

How To Delete YouTube Channel

You don’t want to have a YouTube channel to continue using YouTube for your fun. While it could be a happening thing to create a channel with your videos, playlist and quick publicity of your channel, if it is something you no longer want, then deleting your YouTube channel is a good idea which can help you to clear your online visibility and presence.

Without having your channel, you can still subscribe to others channel, follow them as well as could leave comments and likes on their videos. You are allowed to respond to others channel without having your own channel because YouTube account is associated with your Google account – as long as you use your YouTube account through Google account, it does not matter whether you have a channel or not.

Here we have continued the article with the instructions which needs to be followed to remove or delete the YouTube channel.

Delete Channel From YouTube Account:

1. Open YouTube:

Here, you need to start with the necessary steps of opening the YouTube website in your preferred web browser. Type youtube.com in the search bar and then press enter on your keyboard. Doing this, you will be navigated on its main page where you see the most viewed and latest videos.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Open YouTube

2. Click The Profile Icon:

Once you logged into your YouTube account, you need to click on the profile icon located at the top-right corner of the main page. From the profile icon, you will be prompted with a list of options which will help you to continue the procedure.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click The Profile Icon

3. Click Settings:

From the list of options, you will be required to select the “Settings” option located between the “Language: English” and “Your data in YouTube” options.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click Settings

4. Click Advanced Settings:

From the settings option, you will be taken on a new page where you will get a list of choices on the left side of the page. There click on the “Advanced Settings” option to proceed with further options.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click Advanced Settings

5. Click Delete Channel:

Once you clicked on the advanced settings, you will see a new page showing different options regarding the channel’s settings. Scroll down the page and look for the “Delete Channel” option.

Once you get the option, click on it. From the action, you will be prompted with a new tab showing blank field asking for the password of Gmail account with which you have logged in your YouTube account.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click On Delete Channel

6. Enter Password:

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Enter Password

Enter the correct password to continue with the procedure. After providing your password, you will be prompted with a message that is, “Hide or delete your content from YouTube. You are about to hide or delete your YouTube content for *****. Please choose one of the options  below.” Here the options would be, “I want to hide my channel,” and ” I want to delete my content permanently.”

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Please choose one of the options

7. Hide My Channel :

If you just want to hide your channel from the other people, then you should go with “I want to hide my channel.” Select the option which will prompt you with so many options, and then choose one that is convenient for you.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click On Hide My Channel

After selecting the right options, click on “Hide My Channel” option covered in a blue box.  Doing this you will get a pop-up message saying, “This will make all your videos and playlists private so that only you can view them” with cancel and hide my channel tabs.

Click on the “Hide my channel” which will start processing to hide your every content which you have posted on your channel.

8. Permanently Delete My Content:

Moving forward, if you want to delete everything, then you have to go with “I want to delete my content permanently.” This will pop-up a menu, select the options as per your needs and requirements, and then click on the “Delete My Content” option presented with a blue box.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click on Delete My Content

Once you click on “Delete My Content” box, a pop-up window will option saying, “This will permanently delete all your YouTube content, including all your videos, playlists, likes, subscriptions, comments, messages, search history, and watch history. This data can’t be restored. Please confirm by typing in your channel name ***** (Your Channel Name)” with cancel and Delete my account option.

Click on “Delete My Content,” which will delete all the content you have posted on your channel and the visibility of your channel.

Delete Channel With Google Account:

1. Open Google Account:

Open your Gmail account and click on the profile icon

Open your Gmail account and click on the profile icon where you will see an option of “Google Account” option.

Click on the Google Account option

Click on the “Google Account” option, which will take you on a new page consisting of all the options related to Google account settings.

2. Click Data and Personalization:

On the left side of the Google account page, you will see a list of options, there,  click on “Data & personalization” tab. 

click on Data & personalization tab

Doing this will show a page with details information regarding personalizing your account.  

3. Click On Delete A Service Or Account:

Click On Delete A Service Or Account

Now, you need to scroll down the page and look for the “Delete a service or your account” option. Once you get the option, click on it you will be taken on a new page where you get four options that are “Delete a Google service,” “Delete your Google account,” “Download your data,” and “Make a plan for your account.”

clicked on the Delete a service

Here, you need to select “Delete a service or account” to proceed with the procedure of deleting YouTube channel.

4. Enter Password:

Once you clicked on the “Delete a service,” you will get a pop-up asking for your Gmail’s password as the confirmation procedure.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Enter Password

5. Click Next:

Moving forward, you need to click on the “Next” option after which you get two tabs with the trash icons that are “YouTube,” and “Gmail.” There click on the “YouTube” tab.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - click on the YouTube tab

After you clicked on the YouTube tab, you will be again asked for the confirmation of your Gmail password. Enter your password and then click on the “Next” option.

Now you will be taken on the same page which you get while removing the channel from the YouTube account. Here, you have to follow the same steps that you have followed for the YouTube account.

6. Hide My Channel:

If you just want to hide your channel from the other people, then you should go with “I want to hide my channel.” Select the option which will prompt you with so many options, and then choose one that is convenient for you.

After selecting the right options, click on “Hide My Channel” option covered in a blue box.  Doing this you will get a pop-up message saying, “This will make all your videos and playlists private so that only you can view them” with cancel and hide my channel tabs.

How To Delete YouTube Channel-Click On Hide My Channel

Click on the “Hide my channel” which will start processing to hide your every content which you have posted on your channel.

7. Permanently Delete My Content:

Moving forward, if you want to delete everything, then you have to go with “I want to delete my content permanently.” This will pop-up a menu, select the options as per your needs and requirements, and then click on the “Delete My Content” option presented with a blue box.

How To Delete YouTube Channel - Click on Delete My Content

Once you click on “Delete My Content” box, a pop-up window will option saying “This will permanently delete all your YouTube content, including all your videos, playlists, likes, subscriptions, comments, messages, search history, and watch history. This data can’t be restored. Please confirm by typing in your channel name ***** (Your Channel Name)” with cancel and Delete my account option.

Click on “Delete My Content,” which will simply delete all the content you have posted on your channel and the visibility of your channel. Before deleting your YouTube channel, think twice as once you delete your account, you won’t be able to recover your data like comments, likes, followers as well as a subscriber you attained from your performance. After deleting your YouTube channel, you will be required to start everything over. Therefore, think before taking any action of removing YouTube channel.