news-details

How To Delete Facebook’s Wall Post?

Last updated on August 19th, 2019 at 04:02 pm

For social media users like us, Facebook is an ultimate source of information and an excellent medium of sharing our creativity to the world. Facebook is the channel which gives it users tons of opportunities with thousands of benefits. However, with years of criticism for its mismanagement of users data and concerns, the channel still handles its reputation in the industry. With over a billion monthly users,  Facebook has been the finest social media platform to bring revolution in the sector.

Despite thousands of blames and issues, Facebook has given the advanced and unique features to make the channel a convenient place for us to stay. It has made so many attempts with new and exclusive experiments to engage and involve users like us with the network.

The liberties the giant gives us to make the best survival in this competitive social media market makes it an ideal channel – its advanced features and unique setup nudge other social media sites to adopt its culture.

If we talk about the freedom, the channel has given to us then we will have a long list including, reporting inappropriate content, removing comments from our posts, make edits after posting the content on our timeline, removing and deleting the post which we have posted on the network and many more. There is a never-ending list of features on we can talk about, and removing posts after posting is one of them which allow us to delete the content which we have posted on our timeline.

Moreover, there are times when someone tag us on the post which is not suitable for the people who are related to us, but fortunately, Facebook gives an option to let the post out from our profile after which no one would be able to see the post.

Whatever might be the reason which pushes us to remove the post from our timeline, we could delete the unwanted posts anytime anywhere.

“Note: Removing post from Facebook’s timeline is easy, but it does not mean that Facebook will destroy all the traces of the post, or that Facebook cannot retrieve it.”

Deleting Facebook’s post from the timeline is not a complicated job if it is done with the right steps. If you want to know the different ways through which you can get rid of unwanted posts on your timeline, read on the article which will guide you each and every step to delete the Facebook’s post.

Delete Your Own Posts:

Deleting posts from your timeline would make it disappear from everyone’s newsfeed.

1. Open Facebook:

Open Facebook in your preferred web browser

Open Facebook in your preferred web browser; this will directly take you to its main page/newsfeed page.

Enter username and  password

Just in case you are not logged in already, then you will be required to provide your Facebook credentials, including email address/username and correct password in the empty fields.  After providing your Facebook credentials, you have to click on the “Log in” button located just next to the password tab.

2. Go To Your Profile:

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Go To Your Profile

Now, you need to click on your name located at the top of the page beside the search tab. When you click on your name, you will be taken on your profile’s page.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Profile Page

3. Look For The Post:

After you land on your profile page, look for the post which you want to delete or remove permanently from your timeline.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Look For The Post

4. Select Delete:

Once you get the post you want to remove from your timeline, then click on the three dots located at the top-right side of the post. After clicking on the three dots, a menu list will open with several options. There, you need to click on the “Delete” options located just above the “Turn off translations” option.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Select Delete

After selecting the “Delete” option, a pop-up menu will appear on your screen with a message, ” “You can edit it if you just need to change something. If you didn’t create this post, we can help you secure your account.” with “Edit” and “Delete” tabs.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Click on the Delete tab

Click on the “Delete” tab covered with the blue color. That’s it; you are done, now the post will not appear on your timeline and your friends’ newsfeed.

Hide Post From Your Timeline:

Most of the time, you might want to hide the post rather than deleting it permanently, and luckily, Facebook gives you an option to do so. Yes, you have an option of hiding post from your timeline.

1. Open Facebook:

Type facebook.com in the web browser and press the “Enter” key on your keyboard; doing this you will be directly taken on the newsfeed page where you will find the content posted by your friends.  

Open Facebook in your preferred web browser

If you are not logged in already, then you would be required to provide your email address or username associated with your Facebook account and then enter the correct password you had created when you created your account.

Enter username and  password

Moving further, click on the “Log in” option to just located next to the password tab.

2. Click Your Name:

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Go To Your Profile

After you get on the main page of Facebook, you have to click on your name located at the top of the page just next to the search tab. Click on your name will take you to your profile where you can make edits to your bio, and other section if you want.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Profile Page

But here, our main interest is to hide the content or post from the timeline; therefore we need to look for the options through which can complete our task.

3. Select The Post:

Now, select the post which you want to hide from your timeline so that others could not see the post of content.

How To Delete Facebook's Wall Post - Look For The Post

After selecting the post, look for the three dots located at the top-right corner of the post. When you click on the three dots, a menu will appear with different options.

4. Click Hide From Timeline:

From the options that appear from the post, click on the “Hide from timeline” option located above the “Delete” option.

Click Hide From Timeline

When you click on the “Hide from timeline” option, a pop-up menu will appear on your screen showing a message, “Are you sure that you want to hide this post from your timeline? It may still appear in other places on Facebook.” with “Cancel” and “Hide” tabs.

click on the Hide tab

Here, click on the “Hide” tab which will hide the post.

 Though you have hidden the post from your timeline, it will appear on Facebook’s other place.

Remove Tagged Posts:

Your timeline also shows posts and updates that have not posted by you, but someone has tagged you in their posts. You cannot delete tagged posts, but you can use the “hide or remove from timeline” option- this will untag you from the post.

1. Open The Tagged Post:

You need to open the post in which you have been tagged by your friend or anyone else. Further click on three dots located at the top-right corner of the page.

Open The Tagged Post and Click On Three Dots

2. Click Remove tag:

Click Remove tag

Now, you need to click on the “Remove tag” option. Doing this, you will be removed from the post.

Note: If the post mentions your name or the post includes your image, then other people will be able to see it and recognize your name and picture. If you want to remove the post completely from Facebook, then simply contact the person who has tagged you in the post. You cannot delete the post which has been posted by another user.

Removing and deleting Facebook posts helps us to deal with the problems which we can face due to inappropriate content we have posted.  Facebook has some community standards which needs to be followed by its every user and as a user of the giant, if you have posted some content that could violate the guidelines, then it is better to remove the posts to avoid any consequence like termination of Facebook account.