Need a break from social media? Worried about digital threats? Or just done with the photo-sharing application. Whatever the reason may be, Instagram gives you the easy option to solve your each and every query. Yes, Instagram allows you to delete your existing account and start with a new one when you feel ready to access the photo-sharing app. Moreover, you can also simply disable your account.
"Deactivating your account temporarily will work same as deleting your account. Your profile, posts, comments, and followers, won't be visible to other users including your friends on the platform."
Instagram also offers one more option to secure your account from any threat, which is its privacy settings. Yes, you can make your profile private, but if you make your Instagram profile private, it will be available on the platform, it means people can find you easily. Other users can still search your profile, and your friends can even interact with you and your content. Whereas, temporarily deactivating your account will completely erase your existence from the platform, without deleting any of your posts and profile information.
"The option to "Temporarily disable your account" is not available on the official Instagram application on Android or iOS. You can only use this feature by signing in to your Instagram account from your web browser."
Here are the steps using which you can delete and disable your Instagram account temporarily:
Table of Contents
If you delete your Instagram account, your profile, photos, videos, likes, comments, and followers you have will also be removed/deleted permanently.
You cannot delete your Instagram account through its app; therefore, you need to log in to https://instagram.comfrom a web browser or phone.
After logging in, you need to go the "Delete Your Account" page. Then, you need to select the reason for deleting your Instagram account from the ‘Why are you deleting your account?’ drop-down menu.
Once you have selected your reason behind deleting the Instagram account, you will be prompted to re-enter your password to give the confirmation that you want to delete your Instagram account permanently.
Therefore, enter your password, afterword, an option "permanently delete my account" will appear. Click on the option, and your account will be removed permanently with all of your content and followers.
"Once you delete Instagram account, you cannot sign up with the same username and password, if you want to create a new account later. Even, you cannot reactivate your deleted account."
In case you are not ready to permanently delete Instagram account, then we are here with a new solution in which you just have to disable your account temporarily.
If you temporarily disable the Instagram account, then your content and followers will not be removed permanently. It will just remove your account from the platform temporarily. If you want to join the Instagram community with the previous content, you can easily reactivate your account.
Open your desired web browser and type "www.Instagram.com" in the address bar, then click on "ok."
Tap on the humanoid icon from the bottom right side of your story page.
Now, on your profile page, tap on the "Edit profile" option located below your username to view your account's edit page. There you need to go to the "Temporary disable my account" page.
On the "Temporary disable my account " page, you will be prompted to select the reason for disabling your Instagram account from the "Why are you disabling your account?" drop-down menu.
Once you select an option, you will be prompted to re-enter your password to give the confirmation that you want to disable your Instagram account.
At last, click on ‘Temporarily Disable Account.’ Your profile with all your content and followers will be disabled until you reactivate your account.
"To enable your account again, you just need to sign in again with your user ID and password."
You will need your password to delete and disable your Instagram account. If you forgot your password, then firstly reset the Instagram password.