Facebook has had a wicked relation with controversies and security issues. From Cambridge Analytica scandal to the users' data and confidential information breach, Facebook has faced thousand of allegations since its launch. Due to those controversies people have increasingly turning away from the platform and trying to permanently delete their Facebook account.
Whether the user is concerned about his/her online privacy or just want to disconnect from social media for a small period of time, there are two ways through which one can easily leave the social media giant-deleting Facebook account permanently or deactivating Facebook account temporarily.
If you are also concerned about your online privacy or just want a break from Facebook, you can choose any of the methods from deleting your account permanently or deactivating it temporarily. But before taking any decision, you should know the exact difference between deleting an account or deactivating an account.
Table of Contents
The major difference between deleting and deactivating Facebook account is that deleting your account is a permanent action means you cannot recover your account if you want to, whereas deactivating Facebook account is a flexible option- you can activate your account whenever you wish to.
Deleting Facebook account is somehow a big decision as once you delete your account, you won't be able to regain it. All your posts, content and friends over the account will get removed permanently.
This is the main reason, Facebook delay deletion of account a few days after your request. Facebook cancel your request for deleting account if you log back into your Facebook account during this time. Facebook takes up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems-your information will not be accessible on Facebook during this time.
Some information, like messaging history is not stored in your account which means your friends still have access to messages that you have sent after the deletion of your Facebook account. After deletion of your account, few data (e.g., log records) may remain in Facebook's database but that cannot be accessed by any of the users.
Deactivating Facebook account gives you the flexibility to come back and join the community anytime anywhere. When you deactivate your account, people won't be able to see your Facebook timeline. They won't be allowed to tag you in any post, share your posts, or write anything on your timeline.
But deactivating Facebook account won't restrict the visibility of messages that you have sent to other users through your account.
There are multiple reasons behind deactivating Facebook account including traveling, studying or just a break from the online buzz. There are people who don't like any activity on their account when they are not using their account. You can easily deactivate your account anytime from anywhere, for as long as you want. When you are ready to return, your friends, photos, content that you have posted will be there for you.
Read on the article to know how to delete and deactivate Facebook account-
Open your preferred web browser and type http://www.facebook.com in the address bar and click on the enter button. Doing this, you will directly reach on New Feed page.
If you are not already logged in, you will be required to enter your email address or registered phone number and password correctly in the given tab.
Once you entered your email address and password, click on the "Log In" tab next to the password field.
Once you logged in your Facebook account, click on the drop-down arrow located next to the question mark icon at the top right corner of the page.
When you click on the drop-down arrow, you will see a list of options, there you need to select the "Settings" option located above the "Log Out" tab.
From the settings option, you will be navigated to a new page where you need to click on "Your Facebook Information" tab (a blue icon with a white f). This option will be located on the left side of the page below the "General" settings.
Once you clicked on “Your Facebook Information," a new page with new tabs will appear on your screen. There you need to click on "Delete your account and information" option situated at the bottom left side of the page.
When you click on "Delete your account information" a pop-up tab will appear on your screen with a warning message. In the pop-up tab, you will see two options, "To keep messenger, deactivate instead" and "Download your information. You can follow the options as per your convenience.
In the bottom right side of the pop-tab, you will see "Cancel" and "Delete Account" button, click on "Delete Account" after which you will be required to go through the further procedure.
Once you clicked on the "Delete account" option, you will be asked to enter your Facebook's password to continue with the process. Enter Facebook's password in the blank field and click on the "Continue" button (blue box).
After providing you passwords, you will see a pop-up tab with a message, "You're about to permanently delete your account. If you're ready to delete it, enter your password and click Delete Account. Once you've submitted your account for deletion, you'll have 30 days to reactivate your account and cancel the deletion. After 30 days, the deletion process will begin and you won't be able to retrieve any of the content or information you've added." Below the message, there will be two options that are "Cancel" and "Delete Account." Click on "Delete Account" to permanently delete your Facebook account.
Open Facebook by typinghttps://www.facebook.com/on your preferred web browser, it will directly open the News Feed page.
If you are not already logged in, enter your email address/username and password in the required field and then click on "Log In" button located next to the password tab.
After logging in to your Facebook account, click on the drop-down menu located at the top-right corner of the page. (You will find the drop-down menu next to the question mark icon at the top of the page).
Once you clicked on the drop-down menu, you will be prompted with a list of options, there you need to select "Settings" options. The option will be located above the "Log out" option.
From the "Settings" option, you will be navigated to a new page. There, select "General" tab located on the top-left side of the page.
General tab will lead you to a new page with multiple options including "Name," "Username," "Contact," "Ad account contact," "Temperature," "Manage account" and "Identity confirmation."
There, you need to select the "Manage Account" option to complete the task of deactivating the Facebook account.
When you click on the "Manage Account" option, a page will open with multiple fields. Scroll down the page, and look for the "Deactivate Your Account" blue link. The option will be located at the bottom of the page.
After selecting the "Deactivate Your Account" link, you will be prompted with a field asking for your account's password. Enter your password and click on the "Continue" button (blue box).
"Continue" tab will show you a new page with a list of reasons. There, you need to select a reason behind leaving Facebook account.
Mark the box for the reason you're deactivating your account.
Further, click on the "Deactivate" button located at the bottom left corner of the page. When you will hit the button, a pop-up tab will open with a message, "Deactivating your account will disable your Profile and remove your name and photo from most things that you've shared on Facebook. Some information may still be visible to others, such as your name in their Friends list and messages that you've sent" with "Deactivate now" and "Cancel" button.
Click on "Deactivate now" button to simply deactivate your Facebook account.
Deleting and deactivating Facebook account are the two different things. If you delete your account permanently, then you would never be able to recover it again. But before deleting Facebook account, Facebook will ask you to download info in which you can download all the content that you have posted on your timeline. Whereas, when you deactivate your account, your data, posts and whatever content you have posted on Facebook will remain at the backup. When you log in back to your Facebook account, you will easily get all your content that you have posted previously.